Communism Of Love Rgb Suzanne Shaffer
Reprodueix vídeo

You can access the video by clicking this link. This Radical December video can be viewed on an external page.

The Communism of Love: Richard Gilman-Opalsky with Stevphen Shukaitis

11/12/2020 - 2pm PST / 5pm EST / 10pm UK

Richard Gilman-Opalsky in Conversation with Stevphen Shukaitis.

“Exploring the meanings and powers of love from Ancient Greece to the present day, Richard Gilman-Opalsky argues that what is called “love” by the best thinkers to have approached the subject is in fact the beating heart of communism—that is, communism understood as a human yearning and way of life, not as a form of government. Along the way, he reveals with clarity that the capitalist method of assigning value to things is incapable of appreciating what humans treasure most. Capitalism cannot value the experiences and relationships that make our lives worth living; it can only destroy love by turning it into a commodity.

The Communism of Love follows the struggles of love in different contexts of race, class, gender, and sexuality, and shows how the aspiration for love is as close as we may get to a universal communist aspiration.”

 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
últims vídeos

Fem servir cookies. Si continues navegant pel web, entenem que hi estàs d’acord.